Week 2 Moments in Lima CCM

 

Family, so much to say and no time to say it as usual. I am about to go get on the bus and head to the temple, but let me tell ya about my week :). Every Saturday we get the opportunity to go tract for six hours in Lima City.. it is such an adventure. The most humbling experience of my life. These people literally have nothing.. i mean nothing. Their houses are built right into the mountain, just like all the pictures on the internet. You go into their houses and there are just tons of mice running around. Their rooms are separated with sheets. There are hundreds of dogs running around and it is sorta scary, BUT these are the happiest people you have ever met. They are so kind and loving to us even though they have nothing to be thankful for, (it seems) they are thankful for so much. When they pray then never ask for anything. They just thank their Heavenly Father or their God for the little they do have. I love preaching this gospel, I feel so powerful when I do. On saturday I made this very old woman start to cry when I bore my testimony and I couldn’t help but cry myself. When I preach doctrine or bare my testimony the spanish just flows like a fountain and I don’t even have to think about it. I am so thankful for the help of the spirit and the help of my Heavenly Father to let me bring others unto him. We climbed the mountain so high up that we could see the whole city of Lima from the top. We were climbing stairs that are about an inch wide. Talk about an adventure! It was so beautiful, it was right at sunset. There are tons of dogs at the top of the mountain and they eat out of buckets that are filled with I don’t even know what! But they don’t bite… yet!! So that’s ok. I am thankful to have not seen an arana (spider) yet… knock on wood. The insects here aren’t to bad yet. Random cravings I have had are: Oreos with REAL milk.. the leche just doesn’t do justice to anything. A snow cone…. and a hamburger.. oh and the number one thing DR PEPPER… but that’s ok.. I know this is where I should be. I felt it the second I stepped off the plane. I have a love for this place already that I can not describe. I am so thankful for this opportunity. I miss you guys so much. I think about you every second. You are always in my heart. I bet doing the lawn is just super fun… but I would sorta rather be here 😉 I hope all is well and you guys have a great summer, as I am sure you will. I know mom loves this time of year so much.. I wish I could be there to enjoy this time with you guys. I miss going out to eat with dad, and I miss just talking with my sister.. but I also know you guys support me with all your heart and i am so thankful for that. I have a latin companion and two americans. Elder Corry is still my companion along with  Elder Billy Kerivan. We are with our latin companions all day except when we are learning spanish. Everything here is in spanish though so I tend to pick it up quick. I can’t believe how much I now know. I am so thankful for the opportunity to be here in this CCM because I learn so many useful words that I know I would not have learned in Provo. the Latins here are such an inspiration. My companion has such a strong testimony and helps me so much in my life. I can’t wait to be in the field and work all day to bring people unto Christ… less than a month left till that wish comes true. I pray for you daily, many times.I hope you are being blessed. Tell my cousins I love them, and that they should look forward to this time. I am about to go get myself some Inca kola 🙂 so I have to go… but I already have bought some SICK scripture covers and some sick peruvian things. Next Wednesday we get to go buy jerseys.. I love you guys. So much. . . till next week 🙂 les amo!

Categories: CCM | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Week 2 Moments in Lima CCM

  1. Sounds like you are doing great Josh. I hope you dont run into any nasty insects but seeing how you have some time left im sure you will. I had problems with dogs on my mission too, usually you can tell if they’re friendly, however, if not just run faster than your companion and you’ll be fine. I got some headaches learning the language but little by little I picked it up as im sure you will if you choose to work on it everyday. Enjoy this time, they are some of the best memories of my youth. Tyson, Dallin, and I have you in our prayers.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

